Hits Heaven

Long time no see! Well, from my point of view that is, seems like a lot of people around this globe have seen me or at least this website last week. Out of curiosity I submitted my own URL on CSS Mania, one of the biggest showcase galleries on the web. Although they focus mainly on the amount of updates, the featured designs aren't that bad (understatement?). So I was pretty surprised that I got through and my submission was processed and accepted! So far for the good news...

The bad news is I couldn't have picked the worst weekend, considering the reliability of my hosting provider. At the time I clicked submit at the CSS Mania form it seemed my website was down, which I found out after a quick reply from the CSS Mania crew. The moment it came back up I resubmitted and my weblog got accepted. A couple of hours later "bramn - When just a first name is not enough!" was featured on CSS Mania! And later also on Screenalicio.us and some Japanese (?) website.

As expected the amount of hits went sky-high immediately afterwards. Well relatively speaking that is ofcourse. A daily average of 550 hits seemed to be my new standard. Till about now that is, my website is dropping back in line and it takes more surfing time to find it, so hits are slowly dropping back to as it was before. No sweat... What did made me sweat was the DOS attack and the downtime of Dreamhost's DNS servers, aaaaargh, second time in the same wrong weekend. What are the chances?!

Well, all and all it was a fun weekend, watching my Mint statistics and the thriller that is called Dreamhost. In between I took the time to prepare for moving to my own new apartment last monday, but more about that later.

5 comments

Nice! I love that site. There are many links too beautiful sites on it! You must be proud!

Always nice to see some templates on CSS Mania. And yes, when your site is been uploaded on their site, you generate some traffic. A little bad luck with your host, but I don’t think that breaks the fun..

Just out of pure interest, why the heck is your “Valid CSS 2.0” link pointing to validate Mezzoblue?

The link goes to: http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/valid..

Did you rip the starting HTML code from that site, or another reason? Just seems rather odd in my opinion!

I didn’t rip anything from Mezzoblue except for some inspiration perhaps. I always copy/paste the CSS validate link from some other website and replace the URL with the ‘referer’ variable. Seems I forgot the last part this time.

Jeej, je wordt dus bekend ;-p

Your information

Settings

Remember personal info?


Your email address will only be used for feedback purposes and will never be shown. If needed you can use Textile to markup your comment.
Leave your comment